Trying to be a better son

Usually, nothing keeps me up at night, but that wasn’t the case last night. What kept me up is the realization that my relationship with my parents is much non existent. Lemme explain.

Growing up, I never really spent time with them. After school I was always by a friend’s house, or chilling with one of my cousins. There was allot of days I didn’t talk to them about my day. My parents had a mentality of “I’m not your friend, I’m your parent.” As long as I got my shit done in school, etc, they weren’t on my back about stuff, so we never really bonded. They allowed me to do whatever that made me happy at the time. We hardly ever do things as a family. Last year I tried to get everyone to go on a family vacation during Thanksgiving, but yeah that didn’t happen. I feel like I can’t tell them anything without getting a lecture. That’s why I wasn’t excited to tell them I was going to Italy, or moving to Austin, TX. My mom and I don’t have meaningful conversations. We just share funny emails back and forth. My dad and I have made leaps and bounds in our relationship, and I’m so thankful for it. What really hit it off is when I graduated, and he told me I was the hardest worker in the family at the time and he was proud of me for getting a degree in bio engineering. I have him to thanks for my interest in science. He still working at lockhead building the orion space capsules. He previously worked on the big orange fuels tanks for the shuttles. We would always talk heavily on what went on, and the future tect, etc.

My parents are amazing people. I envy them heavily. I will never forget that when my dad was laid off after the shuttle disaster, he sold his favorite motorbike just so we could have a stupid game for Christmas. I was too young to understand it at the time. My mom spoiled the shit out of me with material things, but I never really opened up to her even to this day. I envy their relationship. They have been together for 29 years now. Always doing cute shit to keep the excitement going.

I literally have the best parents in the world, and I need to take advantage of it.

-JiNX

twitter.com/anolecreole
snapchat: jynxs047
ask.fm/anolecreole

Leave a Reply

