Selling out?

image

I guess my twitter has grown big enough to attract local businesses. I’ve been getting tweets and Dms for me to come and check out their place of business. Most of the are local bars that’s near my home in downtown Austin, Texas. Other have been local dealerships about vehicles. At 3.2k followers on twitter I don’t feel like my sphere of influence is big enough to do these collaborations. Through my social media it’s easy to find out that I work for Texas University, and that may also be a factor.

Most of the offers is for me come in their place of work and do a “review” on my blog and shout them out a few times on Twitter. I’m conflicted, I’m currently planning to live in Austin for many years to come. I have a great job here at Texas University and I can really imagine myself working 30+ years here. I don’t want to get stuck in the situation where the company treat me, but the food/services is horrible. I would feel obligated to write a positive review about them because you usually get it for free, but I’m not going to lie or sugar coat something because I got it for free. Which may result in hostile tensions if I ever decided to try it again if it’s under the same management. It would be one thing for me to go to another city and do it because it would be highly unlikely for me to travel out the way to visit them. Also, I don’t want to review anything and they drag the University name all in it. It should be just like this blog. My thoughts are my own alone and do not reflect the views of anyone or anything beyond that fact.

I’m holding off on it for now and will probably never collaborate with a company in that manner. Until then I will continue to explore Austin with my friends and if I end up loving a place I will share it via my social media.

-JiNX
twitter.com/anolecreole
ask.fm/anolecreole

Leave a Reply

