Why I choose to study biological engineering.

Usually when I’m out and about meeting new people and tell them I earned a degree in biological engineering I usual get “ew.” Mostly think I do it for the money thay this degree brings, which is not true. Let’s take a trip down memory lane. Keep in mind that I was a C average student and nowhere near wanting to study biology. I had interest in the science, but I never thought I was smart enough to obtain a science degree. It was really a miracle that I was accepted into LSU. Like most colleges, LSU is set up where you can’t declare a major your freshman year. At that time, I really didn’t know what I wanted to choose as my major. That semester I took sixteen credit hours. Two of those classes were both the lecture and the lab for biology. I hated the lecture, it just reminded me of highschool all over again. In the lab it was a totally different story. I enjoy working with the equipment, making wet mounts and doing experiments. After awhile the biology lab is what I looked forward to every week. One day, I made a wet slide of a plant. I clamped the wet slide to the electron microscope, focused it and I was blown away! I could see all the green dots (chloroplast) moving within the cell. To me it was pretty damn cool to see the disk-like structure that is responsible for capturing light and using it to change carbon dioxide from the air we breathe into usable sugars for the cell in a process known as photosynthesis. Sitting around after class I finally felt like I’ve found what I want to do. Eventually, I would commit to biological engineering.

Getting this degree was definitely a journey. It consumed me and totally changed my lifestyle.  Like I said, I was never the really smart guy. I had to study my ass off and doing internships to get some experience when I got closer to graduating. Sometimes, I feel like it costed me relationships with my significant others at the time and weakened my bonds with friends and family. I was so stress during the semesters because there was so much to learn. In the end, it was all worth it. Now I’m working as a research assistant. I’m so blessed I get to say “I don’t got to go to work.” Instead I’m saying, “I get to go to work.”

-JiNX
twitter.com/anolecreole
ask.fm/anolecreole

Leave a Reply

